Foreplay/Long Time…


It was in Dennis Smith’s basement. He had a new record….vinyl…. he wanted me to hear. He turned it up…. We JAMMED…. not Wayne’s World jammed… but, oh-my-gosh-this- is-instantly-classic-perfect jammed. Frankly, I don’t want to hear a live cut of it. I want the original perfection of sound. Of course I bought the……8-track. Last song on channel 4. I drove our chocolate brown, with white landau roof and luggage rack Plymouth Duster and styled. I’m sure I wore out the original tape. Sweet music in a sweet ride. I still remember coming home from a summer baseball game in that car with 6 buddies with Boston on and cruising at 110… and I’m alive.

Windows open…

Hair flying…

Heads nodding…

Alive!

Man….. music DOES  that to me. It makes me know I am alive! So, today out for a walk…

 Whaddya wanna listen to, lw?

 Maybe a little Boston….thank you!

And you know what? Foreplay starts… a little smile begins to tug at the corner of my lips. I wait…… and wait….. and wait….. and then…. THERE IT GOES! I smile and my head starts to move…. my gate matches the drums… and it is STILL perfect! Once again, my hair is blowing…. maybe not quite so much…. but, still…

It’s been such a long time
I think I should be goin’, yeah
And time doesn’t wait for me, it keeps on rollin’
Sail on, on a distant highway
I’ve got to keep on chasin’ a dream
I’ve gotta be on my way
Wish there was something I could say.

Well I’m takin’ my time, I’m just movin’ along
You’ll forget about me after I’ve been gone
And I take what I find, I don’t want no more
It’s just outside of your front door.

It’s been such a long time. It’s been such a long time.

Well I get so lonely when I am without you
But in my mind, deep in my mind,
I can’t forget about you
Good times, and faces that remind me
I’m tryin’ to forget your name and leave it all behind me
You’re comin’ back to find me.

Well I’m takin’ my time, I’m just movin’ along
You’ll forget about me after I’ve been gone
And I take what I find, I don’t want no more
It’s just outside of your front door.

It’s been such a long time. It’s been such a long time.

Yeah. It’s been such a long time, I think I should be goin’, yeah
And time dosnt wait for me, it keeps on rollin’
There’s a long road, I’ve gotta stay in time with
I’ve got to keep on chasin’ that dream, though I may never find it
I’m always just behind it.

Well I’m takin’ my time, I’m just movin’ along
Takin’ my time, just movin’ along
Takin’ my time, yeah I’m takin’ my time…

So many times, we all are “chasin’ that dream, though I may never find it…” and it feels like, “I’m always just behind it.” But maybe today is the dream we keep chasing. A lot of our life seems to be focussed on what is, may, or may not come tomorrow. It is trite, but we miss the joy of today while pursuing the happiness of tomorrow.

Don’t get me wrong, I certainly have dreams that only tomorrow can bring. That’s a GOOD thing… to press on… stretch forward… like a good running back… running with a forward lean! But today is what we have….uh….today.

Yes… we prepare

Yes… we plan

Yes… we save

But

TODAY… be alive!

TODAY… be thankful!

TODAY… be content!

TODAY… take what you find, and don’t want no more!

TODAY… love her!

TODAY… love him!

Brother, roll down the window, turn up the music, and LIVE!

2 thoughts on “Foreplay/Long Time…

Leave a Reply

