Symmetry and Redemption…Part 4


That brings me to 2012, and the move to Florida…

The other day I was reading the story of Abram, in Genesis 13. I wrote the following in my journal:

“So Abram went up from Egypt, he and his wife, and all that he had, and Lot with him into the Negeb.” vs. 1

“He journeyed on by stages from the Negeb as far as Bethel, to the place where his tent had been at the beginning, between Bethel and Ai, to the place where he had made an altar at the first; and there Abram called on the name of the Lord.” vss. 3-4

Abram’s impatient wandering into Egypt lead to lies and liasons between Sarai and Pharoah. Abram gave one gift of God away… his wife… and put other gifts at risk. He was stuck. God acted according to God’s promise to Abram. God acted according to God’s character. However, a pagan king understood the message and action of God better than Abram. Pharoah returned Sarai to Abram, and even let him keep the bride price already paid.

Abram then returned to “the place where his tent had been at the beginning… to the place where he had made an altar at the first…” And Abram worshipped God there…

We each take sojourns from time to time which require God’s action on our behalf to extricate us from a place of bondage. We use and give away God’s precious gifts to us, receive pagan’s wages for them, and trade optimistic faith for pessimistic fear.

The promise and character of God allows for the symmetry of confession and return.

Symmetry and Redemption…”

(The entry comments on events of a story at the midpoint  of its telling. For a fuller understanding of the events of Abram’s life, begin reading in Genesis 11.)

Coming to Kansas City now feels like a sojourn. It has been a long detour, to say the least, and in many ways it has been invaluable. My children came from it, as did the valued friendships mentioned earlier. Now I am returning to the family of my birth. My father is gone, and that will always feel strange when we are together. Yet in spite of all the messiness of my upbringing, which I have written about in other posts, my father and mother gave us two important gifts:

an abiding love for God, which they lived out every day…

…and…

a love and acceptance of other people regardless of their station in life.

The home of B. Ivan and Helen Williams was where God first placed me, and I first “pitched my tent.” God has extricated me from the land of sojourn and lead me to my family of origin. My family has been scattered across the country for most of our lives. Now we are coming together. We will now have the opportunity for relaxed time together to get to know each other. There will be work, also. My brother-in-law and sister have owned a pest control business for 30 years, and I will now be part of that business. It gives me the opportunity to get myself on my feet financially, and finish school at the same time. Some people move to Florida to do nothing… I am moving there to get busy…

Symmetry…

… and now Redemption…

2011 showed me why I have battled with myself for so long. I have begun to understand how my family of origin contributed to the warfare. But that is only part of the story. I also received wondrous gifts from my parents and siblings. It is now time for those gifts to be redeemed to me, and me to them. I don’t know how it will work, and fully expect it to not be an entirely easy process. God’s gifts always seem to hold struggle and pleasure in tension…

Death and Resurrection…

Work and Play…

Practice and Game time…

Labor and New Birth…

Conflict and Resolution…

Arguing and Lovemaking…

Mourning and Celebration…

Fasting and Feasting…

Shadow and Light…

Writing and Reading…

A well-lived life embraces hardship with tenacity and thankfulness. Love always has a shadow… and it takes courage to reframe the shadow into actions of forgiveness and committment rather than fear and withdrawal. Isolation denies the value of struggle, and manipulates the gifts of God to serve fear rather than faith. I don’t expect paradise. I anticipate moments of awkwardness and disagreement. So what? God allows differing perspectives. Actually, I think the eternal, never-ending God encourages them. God relishes adult conversations with people who aren’t afraid of childlike honesty. Faith believes the disonant chords of life hold tension which will finally find release in perfect harmony. Disonance energises expectation of resolution and…

Redemption…

3 thoughts on “Symmetry and Redemption…Part 4

  1. Larry I am so glad to see that you are moving to Fla. Your Mom has always wanted her family together. I think all the Young girls are like that. The farthest away mine lives is 2 hrs.
    So I know she cant wait for you to get down there. Love to you
    Claudia

    c

Leave a Reply

