Friday…..


What do you do on a Friday evening when you live by the beach? You go to IKEA! Really!

Late last night, (after reading my blog most likely) my sister-in-law texted me to see if I wanted to go see a movie with her and my brother tonight. I responded, “Maybe. I have to be up early for work, so I’m not sure.” She then asked me to call her today to let them know. The further scheduling details aside, I decided to go. We decided to have dinner first, and as we were talking about the things I needed at my house, Margaret mentioned that where I REALLY needed to go was to IKEA! Bill jumped in…”Why not go tonight? We can see a movie tomorrow!” (Leave it to the retired guy to come up with a good idea.) The rest of the meal was spent talking about much less exciting things like

…why divorced people always must mention they are divorced…

and…

…if that means they find part of identity in being divorced…

and…

…why they seem to want to hang out with other divorced people…

and

…if I am having difficulty making the transition from changing my self-identity from “divorced” to “single”…

( I found a good analogy for the second question, by the way…”For the same reason cancer survivors like to hang out with other cancer survivors.”)

We had good, spirited conversation. And then…. off to IKEA!

I realize that to some people, IKEA is a bit tiresome. In fact, I have even heard a couple people use it as a joke about trends, the herding instinct, blah, blah,blah…. But to me, IKEA is a journey of creative ideas. I LOVE how people figure out how to use a small space! My mind will eventually take many of the things I saw tonight and apply them in maybe similar ways, maybe different ways, to my own space. I love to become involved in activities that stretch my creative and intellectual boundaries. We all have a box that we think inside. My “box” can only get larger when the walls are blown apart. The only problem is when the walls of my box are blown apart, the roof tends to fall on my head for a bit…. But that is really ok. It is when we are overwhelmed by…

the moment…

the options…

the ideas…

the colors…

that our minds begin to search for new ways to express and adapt. Creativity is born in the Overwhelmed Moment. We may not know it though, at least not at that specific time. We must search through the debris for bits and pieces which fit together in new ways, or at least different ways. I find that although I need structure, I also find the necessity of moving the structures around from time to time. This is true in my faith, as well. Faith develops within me, as God redefines God’s self to me. I mentioned in a post for a class, that the better I come to know God, the less I can say ABOUT God. To me, God is always the same, but also always different. I find this when I study the manner in which Christ lived in tension with Jewish tradition of his day. He seemed to break traditions, while also claiming he had come to fulfill the law and tradition…

Huh?

Through Christ’s breaking/fulfilling tradition, the accessibility of NEW life was gained. God, in Christ, seems to blow out the walls of the box God had been placed in. However, rather than build a larger box, Christ invites us into freedom….

to explore beyond the boundaries of piety based on our own “correct” action…

rather…

to live in the boundless richness of grace!

Leave a Reply

